Patti-New to TFP and converting from Baquacil

farmerpatti

Gold Supporter
May 21, 2017
Croswell, Michigan
Another Newbie here! Have a 27K AG 33' round vinyl pool.......wanting to convert. Have added water to top off and now need to start the transfer process. I tested with my bacquicil strips and have little sanitizer in and the oxidizer is between the add maintenance and add initial dose, meaning it is below normal.

I just last night found out about this site, so am behind the curve. We have been filtering for over 24 hours (opened pool yesterday), and did vacumming and brushing....raining all day today so haven't been out. Haven't added anything .... so reading, I need to get ph to 7.2. I bought a digital accutest monitor...will see what ph and TA readings I get. I also have a hot tub which is chlorine.

On the pool math calculator, I'm assuming I use 0 on FC to determine the amount of bleach to buy. We use 50 gallon of bleach/chlorine on our farm, so will check to see what % it is.

Patti,

I am a newb as well, check out my thread you can watch my progress. Yes, use 0 as "now" and 15 as "target". That part of the chart was a little hard for me to decipher if you just glance at the chart because it says "Goal" right above the area where you enter your starting number.

I can tell you that from starting with a clear pool to nasty green back to sparkling clear has taken 30 hours and 16 gallons of 10% in my case.

I have not reached the target numbers on CC or overnight loss yet, so I am still in the process. You might find some helpful tips on the beginning stages of the process. Best of luck, I don't feel like it has been too difficult so far, but I have asked a lot of questions and received great answers!

The TF100XL test kit that was recommended by many members here has really been a big plus in my conversion. All that I ever used before was test strips, and I would be in bad shape if I hadn't bought this kit.

Welcome Patti!