Panel Placement & Conduit Terminations (electrical)

Jerz

Gold Supporter
Apr 13, 2021
Atlanta
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Jandy Aquapure 1400
I'm a commercial electrical contractor so I told my pool builder that I'd do the electrical so he brought the conduits over to the equipment and I take it from here. 3 conduits are pool lights, 1 conduit is the spa light, 3 conduits are for sheer decent led lights, and one is a gfci outlet (and looks like I need to add a Conduit to each of two firebowls for igniters) I have no experience with pools so looking for suggestions on panel placement. The pool builder said they usually terminate the pool and spa conduits in a weatherproof jbox, tie the pool lights together and bring those three wires into the panel to terminate and then the spa light to a separate relay. He said the jbox needs to be higher than the water level in the spa which should be 18 inches above grade. Aqualink RSPS8 panel. Looking for any tips before I get started.
20210731_065702.jpg

You also have to consider electrical leads from the 3 pumps and the heater. It is not clear where your main power leads are positioned - are they coming from the right of the equipment pad. Also, you do plan to put the breakers in the Jandy AquaLink Panel and not a separate sub panel? A good position would be on the brick wall to the right of the equipment pad to right of the vertical conduit as that would make it easy access but appears you have a wood fence there. Is that permanent? Or could it be mounted on that fence facing the equipment pad?

One other note - can you reroute those conduits around the outside of your plumbing? Hope you never have to dig down to repair your plumbing but if the conduit is between the plumbing pipes it will make it just that more difficult.