Old solar shot - new solar or heat pump - Central FL

viking68

Silver Supporter
May 9, 2010
Lake Mary, FL
12 year old Fafco system (dealer installed - no longer in business).

Panels are loaded with leaks - over 20 at this time.

Many leaks fixed over the years per Fafco warranty - plugging tubes = reduced efficiency.

The roof penetration tie-down straps with "caps" - some have come completely detached - flopping around on the roof.

This may have happened due to our "little blow" last summer - 85+mph gusts during Irma for half a day and night. That was fun!

Heliocol dealer kindly temp fixed the "holes" and, of course, gave me a quote on a new system, complete with professional roof repair of the disaster left by the original installer. They tell me they see this all the time on old Fafco systems.

Helicol installs to rafters - as a contractor, I know they won't come loose - if properly installed. Dealer has very good rep and been in business for over 30 years (wish I'd gone with them back in the day)! Also wished I'd had my contractor hat on when I was sold on Fafco's tie-down system! Must have been a mentally challenged day for me when I inked the deal.

BUT.

Solar works on it's own schedule, i.e. - solar radiation dependent. Won't heat the pool late/early season - for us, that's mid/late Oct or so through mid March/early April. Pool blanket is not happening - and yes, I know it would help.

Panels on 45 degree angle SSW exposure - no shade. Pool is west (520 SF/~20K gallon free-form), screened, partial shade late afternoons.

SO.

Considering Heat Pump. In Central Florida, it won't run at all mid/late May through mid September - or maybe an hour or 2 a day (rain cooling water, etc.) - no big deal, electric cost-wise.