Novice pool owner cloudy pool.

paul.padda

Dec 21, 2022
Vancouver Canada
Hello everyone,
I will try and keep this brief.
Pool size 24000 gallon vinyl inground pool. Rectangular.
Hayward sand filter
I am a very novice pool owner and I've only had my pool for approximately 6 months. I have been following this site religiously and I've had no issues thus far.
However, the pool recently began to get cloudy about 1 week ago (while I was out of the country). Which a friend have been managing slowly by adding extra chlorine and effectively slamming the pool consistently for the last 3 days. However I still am running into issues with it being cloudy (attempting to slam it). I was on vacation when this all began however suspecting it was a algae issue I had advised them to add generous amounts of chlorine following the pool math app to maintain chlorine levels of greater than 12. CYA was presently 30.
I checked the pool chemistry today and the results are below.
FC 12
CC 0
PH 7.5
CYA 50
TA 60
CH 75

I also recently removed the staircase from the pool which had some algae buildup on it approximately one cubic foot dispersed underneath the crevices of the actual staircase.

My question is is there anything else I should test in regards to this? such as an overnight FC lost test? Am I missing anything?

I also suspect the pool filter which is a Hayward sand filter is dirty and also requires cleaning as I have not cleaned it during my ownership period of 6 months. Furthermore, the PSI since I acquired ownership of the pool is always ranging from 15-17 despite numerous backwashing.

I am planning to clean the sand filter on Sunday. Just want to check if anyone recommends doing something else or if I am missing anything