Newbie with lots of questions

Heatherly30

Sep 13, 2020
Louisville, Kentucky
So many questions...

1. I have been SLAMMING since Friday because I have had very mild algae on the floor of the pool. I passed my OCLT test last night. My target was 16 and this morning it was 15.5. I’m excited BUT, there is still some stuff on the bottom of the pool. I vacuumed this morning so I’ll have to see if it returns. If it returns, what are my next steps?

2. I am attaching a photo of my setup. In order to get to my return area where I pour the chlorine, I have to walk around the entire pool area. I would like to rig up something simple so that I don’t have to make that walk. I am NOT technically minded, so the best I can come up with is a funnel with tubing attached. The tubing would run about a foot or 2 into the pool but in the flow of the return. Gravity would help deliver the chlorine in a slow stream. I know that there are many ideas for other more sophisticated systems. I would be interested in those, but I would need complete dummy instructions, lol.

3. We have a leak, see photo. We added another clamp which has slowed it down, but it is still leaking. It appears to be coming from under the silicone. What should I do?

Attachments

• C174C9D3-9A5B-4542-A04A-3E76211FA386.jpeg
    C174C9D3-9A5B-4542-A04A-3E76211FA386.jpeg
    472.7 KB · Views: 15
  • 06E019EE-ABCD-4561-B6AE-BAF927A54DEE.jpeg
    06E019EE-ABCD-4561-B6AE-BAF927A54DEE.jpeg
    516.9 KB · Views: 16
1. Depending on the color of that substance, let's wait to see if it returns. Since you seemed to have passed the Overnight Chlorine Loss Test, it's possible you have a filtration issue, but if it's algae you'll want to continue the SLAM Process until it stops returning. Also, if there a ladder or steps still in the pool? If you, you should remove those if possible, inspect, and clean. Have you performed a deep clean on the sand lately?