Newbie here - hello from me and my milky white pool!

fuzzywuzzy

Jul 22, 2020
East Bay Area, CA
IMG_3954.jpg

Saying hello from sunny-ish California! I just got my Taylor pool kit in and can't wait to get rid of all the expensive pool maintenance and pool store people in my life. I tested my pH and it was ~7.9. Calcium hardiness was 500 but the test was super light blue so could be a big higher. Haven't figured out the other tests yet but I was a biochemistry major in college (but its been a while LOL) so hoping I can get to the bottom of this soon :)

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Looks like you're battling a little algae there. Time to follow the SLAM Process. Hopefully you have the Taylor K-2006C test kit? Please add it to your signature along with all of your pool and equipment info. It will help later. Make sure to lower the pH to about 7.2 before starting the SLAM Process, and maintain the proper SLAM FC level during the SLAM until you pass all 3 criteria. If you're not sure what FC level to be at for the SLAM Process, confirm your CYA then look at the FC/CYA Levels. Good luck!

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Looks like you're battling a little algae there. Time to follow the SLAM Process. Hopefully you have the Taylor K-2006C test kit? Please add it to your signature along with all of your pool and equipment info. It will help later. Make sure to lower the pH to about 7.2 before starting the SLAM Process, and maintain the proper SLAM FC level during the SLAM until you pass all 3 criteria. If you're not sure what FC level to be at for the SLAM Process, confirm your CYA then look at the FC/CYA Levels. Good luck!
Hi, thanks for the welcome! I do have a Taylor K-2006C (looked for recommendations here before signing up). Although its my first time using the results, here is what I got:

FC: 9.5ppm (just "shocked" my pool yesterday using tri-chlor from leslie's pool supply)
CC: 0ppm
TA: 150ppm
pH: 7.8 - 7.9
CH: 500ppm