New spa- Why bother with Dichlor? Why not CYA and bleach

Welcome Kidneydoc: I notice that you are located in Vero Beach. I have lived in Vero (Indian River Shores), since 2009. Such a great community. Hope you and the family thoroughly enjoy the Swim Spa. Master Spas has been a very good customer of ours over the years. They are good people. Enjoy!

Hello. Do you work for or own Ahhsome? My name is Richard Handler. I am a phyisican here in town. I am a nephrologist (Hypertension, kidney disease, dialysis, etc.). My office used to be Vero Renal Associates. We merged with a larger company called Florida Kidney Physicians. I am new to spas, but had pools for many years and used the TFP methods. I got my spa up and running. Long story, but I have not done my first Ahhsome purge yet. My first fill was well water and it was dirty and lots of iron. I am upgrading my home water system so I have the capacity to fill spa with treated water. This should take care of this and only tradeoff will be to add Calcium back to water. I will use Ahhsome purge in a month or two, then use the weekly treatment as well going forward. I disabled my ozone / UV system as it adds too many variables. It is only my wife and I using spa, so I think the Ozone/UV will kill more FC than any benefit it may bring. So far, no problem with bleach / borax / bicarb / HCL / stablilizer TFP methods. I am going to add a Saltron Mini in the next few weeks. That should be be perfect. My spa loses about 1 ppm of FC each day, so the Saltron mini should be able to keep up with that for steady state control. Then just a bleach boost after each use.