New Pool Owner - Ran my first test

henrym28

Jul 10, 2022
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Hello all!

My IG pool was finished on 6/27. The pool builder handled maintenance up until last week and is handing it over to me now.
I ran my first test yesterday using the TF-100 kit. Here's what I got below. Any tips are greatly appreciated on next steps as I am a complete newbie here.

PH = Shade looks to be between 7.8 and 8.2
FC = 3.5
CC = 0.5
CYA = 55
CH = 225
TA = 80

Couple questions.
1) I noticed TC is not in the TFP pool app, only FC. So do I just input the FC of 3.5 into the app or do I add the CC to it and input 4.0 into the FC category of the app?
2. In the TFP app, if I buy liquid chlorine, do I keep it set to "Bleach" as my sanitizer at 6% bleach chlorine?

Capture.JPG

Last edited:
Hey there... congrats on getting a great test kit.
-First off- where is the TA? I don't see where you've listed your Alkalinity read? That has a LOT to do with your pH.
-As to your pH, from here it looks like 8.0-8.2.... before you go adding acid get me that Alkalinity number, please.
-Your CYA is 60, because the the scale is logarithmic and not linear. That means the the difference between numbers is not the same, its can be a lot more or even a lot less. You can see this when you look at the CYA tube- the numbers aren't spaced evenly. So anything above 50 (you read it as 55) is considered 60.
-Are you in a birdcage? Pools often lose a bit less chlorine if the screens block out UV.
-Use the CYA/FC chart for your guide on how high to keep your FC with a CYA of 60 FC/CYA Levels
- We don't bother with "Total Chlorine" (TC) results since we want to know exactly the FC and the CC.
-Yes, the "bleach" setting is what you use for Liquid Chlorine. Its not easy to change the app I guess, from when we all used to be able to get good bleach. :(

Any more questions, just ask :)

Maddie :flower:

Reactions: henrym28
Hello all!