New house with pool, lots of questions

Michael57

Mar 30, 2020
Sacramento, CA
Hi, I just purchased a new home that has a built in pool and spa. I'm completely new to owning a pool and I hope to do the maintenance myself, but I think I need to learn a lot first.

I tested the water with a basic pool test kit and it showed the pH to be about 8 I think and the chlorine looked alright (I'll try to get specific numbers soon). It was maintained up until a week ago by a pool company, but I was surprised of the high PH?

The first thing I noticed on the plumbing/pump was that the pump container/lid doesn't fill all the way with water as it's running. You can see a solid stream coming out of the pipe, but it's probably only halfway? full. If I switch the valve to draw only from the spa, it immediately fills all the way and the pump becomes quieter (less cavitation?). The "pool guy" had told the previous owner that he sometimes "fiddles" with the valves to get the filter to work better. It seems to me it might not be able to draw enough from the pool side while the pump is running? It's a 3/4 HP pump.

The previous owner ran the pump for 10 hours a day, unfortunately I don't know how large the pool is in gallons, I was told it was 10 ft. at the deep end. Should I try to figure out the size first, or could I back that down to running for 7 hours/day or so? Does it matter what time of day to run the pump?

Attachments

• IMG_7736.jpg
    IMG_7736.jpg
    422.5 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_7765.jpg
    IMG_7765.jpg
    738 KB · Views: 26
  • IMG_7766.jpg
    IMG_7766.jpg
    650.9 KB · Views: 25
  • IMG_7767.jpg
    IMG_7767.jpg
    563.1 KB · Views: 30
  • IMG_7768.jpg
    IMG_7768.jpg
    605.6 KB · Views: 31