New Here. Went to Leslie's and I have questions about phosphates.

SLee

Jun 16, 2021
Orlando
I go to Leslie's because they have the cheapest liquid chlorine. I brought a pool sample to the store because I wanted to test my pool testing kit.

I look at the results and the associate starts telling me about reducing my phosphate level which is about 2 PPM (which they measure at 2,000+ PPB because it sounds alarming) and I listen to him for a few minutes.

Then I quietly tell him that I used to work in the pool industry and ask him if he wants to know a pool secret that his boss probably wouldn't want him sharing with anyone else, but it results in silky smooth, sparking clear, soft pool water. He looks intrigued.

I tell him that the secret is to maintain about 2,000 to 3,000 PPB of phosphates, however don't tell anyone because a person who maintains a high level of phosphates must stay on top of the chlorine and stabilizer, keeping them perfectly balanced to avoid an algae bloom. But if anyone can do it, they will have resort quality pool water. Then I said the risk is so worth it.

Sure, I made it sound dangerous, but I really didn't want to cause any drama between him and the other associates or managers. However, the look of bewilderment and amazement on his face was amazing. He said he will look it up online when he is done with work, but doesn't want to get into trouble.

I thanked him and got my chlorine. It was a fun experience, however I have read somewhere that phosphates can make the water softer so I wasn't really lying. It was a good experience.

Edit: Oh, I forgot my question to the community about phosphates:
What do you say to people when they start talking about phosphates?

If I understand this right....phosphates are food for algae, so why have them in the pool even thought they "don't matter"? It just doesn't make sense to me to have them in there if they do more harm then good if the circumstances call for them to be in effect.