New fill Fiberglass pool what to add

Customer Support

Oct 6, 2021
Las Vegas
Hello, I am not good with searching forums, could someone tell me what steps i need to take or send me a link on what steps to take to get my pool running.
I used to go to leslies for water tests and supplies but i end up draining my pool way more often than I should be because of what they have me adding to the water.
I would like to stop relying on them,

I have a new Taylor test kit but it hasn't been opened in 4 years. are the chemicals bad now or can i still use it?

I have just finished draining and refilling my 10,000 gallon pool
I plan on using liquid chlorine but don't know how much,
I cleaned the filters and skimmer baskets and the pool has no algae
what else needs to be done? anyone have a checklist for opening a new filled pool?

I've had the pool for a long time, just always went to leslies and never thought about doing it myself

Thanks

Welcome to TFP.

Start here…

Post your water chemistry using your TF-100.

Add 30-50 ppm of stabilizer/CYA and maintain 3-5 ppm of free chlorine.

Download PoolMath

I had to order a refill on my test kit chemicals, meanwhile went to Leslies and used their water test.
its all done by a new testing machine if that makes it any better. once i get my refill i will post my updated results.

Fresh fill

Free Chlorine .56
Total Chlorine .7
PH 7.8
Total Alkalinity 137
Calcium hardness 155
Cyanuric Acid 5
Iron 0
Copper 0.2
Phosphates 45
TDS 500

I have 2 lbs of Chlorbrite Shock left should I use them?

Use the Effects of adding chemicals section of the PoolMath app to find out how much liquid chlorine needed to bring your FC up to about 5 ppm, probably 1/2 gallon of 10% liquid chlorine, then add that. Maintain that 5 ppm while reading through that pool care basics link and waiting to get your test kit reagents.