Mild green algae - Should I SLAM?

xdriv3

Oct 8, 2017
NYC
I opened up my pool a week ago. At that time, the water was clear.

We added 1 whole bottle of shock and let the pump run. It's been running daily. I was not home for a week and noticed that the timer on my pump malfunctioned...

Looking at the sides of the pool, there appears to be green algae. I ran my hand and it easily came off. It had a slimy feel. This is my first year with the pool and I'm having trouble deciding whether or not to SLAM.

Here are my test stats (using Taylor - K2006)

pH 7.4
TA 200
CYA 60
FC 0.2 ppm
CC 1 ppm

Does the last chlorine data make sense?

Prior to adding the shock on opening, I did not test the water. Since adding the shock, I have not tested it until today. I was tempted to add a triclor puck back in, but don't want to raise my CYA anymore.

What is my best course of action? Any advice would be much appreciated!

Were you adding chlorine daily? You must add liquid chlorine each day. The pump and filter do not keep the water sanitary.

You need to SLAM Process. Read the article and follow the steps. Your SLAM level FC is 24 ppm.

Your pH is close enough that i wouldn't waste time trying to set it to 7.2. Just reach for the bleach. A lot of bleach. Enough to take your FC up to 24. :shock: Yes, you read that right. And then reach for the pool brush and brush every inch of that pool. If there's a ladder, pull it out and clean it. By then, it'll be time to recheck FC and replenish it to get back to 24.

It won't be surprising if things look worse after the brushing, but it's necessary to break up the slimy biofilm that protects the algae from the bleach.

Then you can sit down with a cold one and read the SLAM Process article in its entirety. You've gotta move fast. You have an active algae bloom and if you don't get ahead of it, soon the water will be green and opaque.

Thanks for the input... here an update

7/21 AM - FC <1
7/21 PM - Start SLAM -> FC raised to 28