LED Lighting

Mar 27, 2013
Dallas, TX
Hey y'all. I've got two Jandy LED lights in my main pool (and one in my attached hot tub for three total). This past weekend I noticed that none of it was working. Figured out that my main pool ones were tripping the GFCI. All three lights are on the same GFCI, and as long as I don't turn on my pool ones it's all good (i.e. I can turn the hot tub one on/off w/o issue). I checked the wiring in the junction boxes nearest the pool, and a few of the wires were pretty corroded and looks like there was some arcing going on under the wire nuts. I'm guessing water is getting in that box somehow, and I'm betting that it fried the boards on the LED lights. I'm also guessing the hot tub light is run to another junction box somewhere else since it works fine. I want to pull the lights out of the pool to check them out, but I've never done that before. Do I need to drain the pool, or is there always water in the light "cavity" in the pool wall? How big of a pain is it to change out the lights if that's what needs to happen? Is it something a moderately intelligent person like myself can do, or do I need to pay a pool company?

Thanks in advance for you help!