Is it algae or rust or what....

Atlantica

Jun 10, 2020
Strafford, NH
Newbie here...
TLDR:reddish brown stuff came out of return jet after filter had been off for 2-3 days...is it algae?
With the rain, our pool filter hasn’t been running for maybe two days. I just turned it on and out of the return jet came reddish-brown...something. After a minute or so it was clear again. Whatever it was had to have been inside the (sand) filter (or settled in a hose maybe?) Could algae have been growing in the filter while it wasn’t running? The free chlorine level was at 13 the day I shut off the filter so I would think algae wouldn’t be able to grow?
Other info it it helps....
We had a nasty algae bloom several weeks back..I fought it for over a week (with algaecide and shock from the pool store) before I gave up and just overloaded it with chlorine 😬 The free chlorine level was at 30+ for several days, but that finally seemed to do something. It changed the green water back to clear anyway. Then I used a flocculent (pool store again) and it took 3-4 days to vacuum all of the reddish brown stuff off the bottom. I assumed that was algae?

AAAAnd...that’s actually how I discovered tfp....ordered the test kit balanced the pool out, added the calculated amount of Borax. Aside from being a tad cloudy and the chlorine level hovering around 10, I haven’t had any other problems.

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Well, based on the chlorine bombs you have dropped, it sounds like you have some sediment that is blowing out, but let's go over a few things:
1 - You seem to have a TF-100, so we'd like to see a full set of water results please.
2 - If you ever see algae in the future, perform a SLAM Process instead. The floc, clarifiers, algaecides, and other pool store junk are just a waste of time and money.
3 - Did you vacuum all that floc to WASTE or did it get to the sand? If it hit the sand, it's probably ruined. Another reason we discourage floc herer at this forum.
4 - Are you on a well?