I Don't Fully Understand SLAM Useage

Gebo

Bronze Supporter
Aug 23, 2023
VA
Even though I check my Chlorine "every" morning, I have found on a few occasions that the tube stays clear.
Not good. I confess...guilty. I will immediately add Liquid 10% chlorine to get it to 6 ppm. So, in my pea brain, I am under the impression that my
wife and I will be bacterial safer if I just go on and SLAM to 12 once a week as my CYA is 30. I am still learning how to adjust
and add liquid Chlorine for number of soakers and soaks per day. It's taking more chlorine than I expected to show pink the next morning.

There does seem to be conflicting info concerning SLAMing Hot Tubs. My pool math app shows it. I do somewhat understand if I never go below 1 why it may be
unnecessary but I do screw up from time to time. Is there something wrong with my brain? I want to be safe and my family to be safe. I feel safer SLAMing.
I have only been in this Hot Tub I purchased in November. I am scared of all the others.

When the sticky was written, spiking the FC once a week was the style of the time as many were only testing/treating when using the hot tub. Since then we've found that with keeping tabs on it, just like pools, shocking is only a 'as necessary' thing,

But like you said, it gets away from you at times and a quick SLAM (Shock Level and Maintain) gets it right back on track.

Reactions: Gebo and Mdragger88
The simple answer to part of your dilemma is to simply dose with more chlorine after each soak.

You want the fc level high enough to:
*Make up for your current bather load;
*Account for standby fc loss;
*Make it through to the next time you check the tub without falling below minimum for your cya;
&
* ideally have enough fc to get you through your next soak (this is most achievable when you’re using & dosing the tub frequently ie. Daily)
Bonus points if you can achieve the last one 😁
Let your testing be your guide.
Not sure what “pink” means (we like numbers)