how to reduce pump pressure

robert fors

Aug 9, 2021
sarasota florida
using new zodiac g3, new filter, measured flow pressure with flow gauge, reading is 6, should be 3, checked equipment for valve to decrease pump pressure but found none. Any idea how to reduce the pump pressure?
Sarasota Fl, 15x30 inground, newly resurfaced and new g3, all chemicals good (taylor readings)
I've been managing the pool for 8 years myself but never had a flow gauge before (came with the new g3). Maybe the high pressure is why I've gone through so many g3 diaphragms in the past. 2 photos attached

Attachments

• hayward aqua rite salt system.jpg
    hayward aqua rite salt system.jpg
    649.4 KB · Views: 8
  • 30x15.jpg
    30x15.jpg
    823.3 KB · Views: 8
Welcome! :wave: I'm going to tag @mas985 for his hydraulics insight, but in the meantime, be prepared to answer some of the following info:
- Post a pic of that motor label
- Looks like you have solar? Provide some details about that set-up (size, elevation, etc)
- Distance from equipment pad to pool
- Pad looks very simple; is the g3 powered by the pool pump as well (i.e. 3-way valve)?
- Now would be a good time to update your signature with all of your pool and equipment info.

measured flow pressure with flow gauge, reading is 6, should be 3
Read the manual so I now know what you mean by 6 & 3.

Do you only have one skimmer and no main drain?

What filter did you have before?

In the manual, it states to do the following for high flow:

If flow is in the high range (4-6):
• Verify that valves controlling the suction lines are in the correct position.
• Lower the flow setting on the FlowKeeper Valve.
• Open the main drain slightly to further reduce flow.
If that doesn't work, you could install a throttling valve after the filter. This could then be used to reduce flow rate.

Last edited:
Welcome! :wave: I'm going to tag @mas985 for his hydraulics insight, but in the meantime, be prepared to answer some of the following info: