How much evaporation is normal?

gbest

Apr 3, 2016
South of Boston MA
I'm hoping I don't have a leak, I'm noticing about 1/4"-1/2" of water loss a day, I don't remember having this much loss in years past, but then again, it's been pretty dry with little rain.
Located in the Boston area if that makes a difference.

gbest,

I completely agree with Marty. This is by far the simplest way to go. If you want the nerdy way go to this link on Engineer's Toolbox. I'm an engineer and even I will say the calculations are very difficult due to all the effects of wind, humidity and temperature that are very difficult to measure accurately. Marty's bucket test eliminates the need to measure anything except what you can do with a ruler. So it's a perfect solution to your problem. But some nerds like me just have the insatiable need to do the calculation.

I hope you find this entertaining... any maybe a little useful!

Chris

I've been worried about this evaporation / potential leak situation on and off over the years. I've done the bucket test several times and never once did it show that there was any leak. Hopefully you'll find the same to be true. I have noticed that with the cooler temps of the last several days, I've lost a good amount of water. We had alot of rain all summer, and so whatever level of evaporation was occurring really wasn't noticeable. I tapped off water alot more than having to add any.

I've been worried about this evaporation / potential leak situation on and off over the years. I've done the bucket test several times and never once did it show that there was any leak. Hopefully you'll find the same to be true. I have noticed that with the cooler temps of the last several days, I've lost a good amount of water. We had alot of rain all summer, and so whatever level of evaporation was occurring really wasn't noticeable. I tapped off water alot more than having to add any.