High CYA

skyfly27

Apr 5, 2021
Springfield Missouri
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Newbie here....I have high CYA level, it's reading below the 100 mark on the Taylor 2006-C test kit. Below is the rest of my test results....
FC 5 (I understand that my goal should be much higher according to the CYA/Chlorine chart. I've been keeping it higher than this).
TA 130
CYA >100
pH 8
CH 300

My question is this. We are still probably about a month out from swimming as it isn't quite warm enough here. I understand in order to get my CYA down I will need to drain nd refill. How much should I drain? Is there any problem refilling with our well water? I haven't had our well water tested, but I do know there is iron present as you can see staining in my toilets. Should I even mess with trying to balance the chemicals before I drain? How do I go about draining? Do I leave it open to the skimmer and the main drain, but just turn the filter to "waste"? Thank you!

Do the CYA dilution test so we know better how much you need to drain...

For CYA > 90ppm, repeat the test adjusting the procedure as follows:
  1. Fill the mixing bottle to the lower mark with pool water.
  2. Continue filling the mixing bottle to the upper mark with tap water.
  3. Shake briefly to mix.
  4. Pour off half of the contents of the mixing bottle, so it is again filled to the lower mark.
  5. Continue the test normally from adding R-0013, but multiply the final result by two.

If you need to dilute the pool water further then apply these ratios:[4]

Pool waterTap or distilled waterMultiply result by

Note that when doing a diluted test not only do you multiply the range of the test you multiply the error rate of the test, so results are a ballpark - not an absolute.

See CYA Testing for tips in how to read the test results.

3. Shake briefly to mix.
  4. Pour off half of the contents of the mixing bottle, so it is again filled to the lower mark.