TexasDedHed

Jul 27, 2021
Awesome, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi everyone! First post newbie here. New pool 90% finished (after 8 months, good lord!)

Just saying hello. I'm learning lots and waiting for my test kit to arrive so I can start the process of turning my cloudy silt filled pool. Our flagstone decking just got finished a few days ago and I've been backwashing our sand filter and vacuuming like a madman to remove all the silt and sand. It's a mess.

Going to slam it in a few days, just trying to source the right bleach right now as I wait for the test kit. I'm dying to use the darn pool.

Nice to meet you all, I'm sure I'll have lots of questions and I'm sure I'll start a thread once I start the SLAM to get all my newbie questions answered. Thanks in advance!!

Welcome to TFP! :wave: New pool? Plaster or vinyl? Algae? Why do you need to SLAM? You don't want to SLAM (elevated FC levels) for the first 30 days. Be mindful of that. If you have other questions about your new pool start-up let us know. It's HOT! :swim:

Hey TDH and Welcome !!!

The waters in the pool, it fits
There's really nothing much to it
Whistle through your teeth and spit
'Cause it's alright
:)
Nicely done :)
I want it to be alright!

Pool builders have done a great job so far, but theres basically a punchlist of items they need to complete.
-Change out our sand filter out for a cartridge (the freeze forced them to give me a sand filter because there was a wait for the cartridge filter at the time)
-replace a really loud booster pump with one that works quieter like it should
-seal the coping/flagstone

But i want to start a SLAM as soon as I get the test kit because it's as all get out and probably still full of silt from the flagstone. uggh.

Reactions: Newdude
Pool builders have done a great job so far, but theres basically a punchlist of items they need to complete.