Heater replacement, valve, what else?

Jul 17, 2017
Newburyport, MA
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Just looking for validation that I'm going down the right path. I purchased a house 3 years ago that came with a pool from 1998 or so. I'm a complete pool newbie, other than I found and started reading this forum a year or so ago. Since then, I bought a TF-100, switched to using only liquid bleach, and stopped buying the Nature2 cartridges. I also got rid of the pool company I was using who doesn't sell liquid bleach and continued to recommend products this forum says to stay away from. I did find a new company that handles repairs and sells 5G jugs of bleach last season.

This morning, we began opening the pool this season and ran into many problems. The new company that was opening the pool (I have not yet been brave enough to try that on my own yet) showed me a few places that were leaking:
[1] A plastic port on the rusty heater seems to have shot water out, threads seem crossed to the point where I can't screw it back in and it stays in
[2] The gasket between the motor and the pump housing
[3] A shut-off valve that doesn't seem to make a lot of sense

More
[1] When we moved in the heater panel was dead. But, the heater still got the water hot, we just had no way of knowing the temp it was set at and whether it would ever stop. It's rusty inside and the local pool store couldn't (didn't want to) find replacement parts. We turned off the breaker and the gas line and it's been off ever since.