Hayward SWCG incorrect Salt levels

conphil

Jul 6, 2020
The Villages, FL
Moved from here.

Well JamesW, now you've raised another question about which I was considering adding a new thread. (Since I'm new at this... let me know if new thread is warranted)

My new T-cell-940 does NOT report the correct salt level. And, yes, I understand that this "calculated" level is based on current, salt level, and temperature (plus one more thing... see below). This new cell reports 3400 to 3500 ppm. Actual salt level as measured by my pool service technician and confirmed by by own salt strip readings (2 different suppliers of strips) is 3100 to 3200 ppm. The variations in all sets of readings can be explained by minor changes in water caused by recent rains. (Temperatures are relatively constant.. heater always on). When the controller reports high (3500) , the strips read high (3200) and vice versa... lower values when the water becomes rain diluted. But there's always a difference of about 300 which I can't explain. I've taken MANY readings and believe the differences are significant.

The reason I started collecting salt strips from separate suppliers is because I was trying to digest the failure of my previous 5-year-old T-15 cell. Classically, that cell was reporting much lower salt levels than actual... while producing insufficient chlorine until we concluded it was at end-of-life.

It made me wonder if this ratio of reported / actual is the design intent. That is, does a new cell report a ratio higher than 100%; then as the cell ages, this ratio goes down eventually to near 75% and cell failure.

Does anybody else get higher values on new T-cells?