Hayward Super Pump, need motor bearings, funky motor brand

Robrike

Bronze Supporter
May 8, 2017
Elizabethton TN
Hey.
I have been all over my phone searching for info on a Dynatech pump connected to my Hayward Superpump I believe. Model and serial is gone from pump plate but pictures match it up to a SuperPump. I ordered a seal kit for it, it seems to have a pretty decent leak going on.

Before I dig into the pump to replace the seals and gaskets, should I attempt to locate bearings too? There is no discernible indication the bearings are failing or that they are any noisier than last year. It took some time to get a new sand filter after opening to a cracked one and the Slam took awhile but is almost over so I hate to have to take pump down twice. I have attached a pic or 2 of the pump, my guess would be it is a cheap replacement motor of the Hayward motor but I am still new to the pool equipment and pool world in general.

Thank you for any assistance on this endeavour I am about to undertake. :)

Robert
cb6cf2fccc897a83f6b3a37c50765da4.jpg
c7ee7f7bcf2a4cc4ad4c307afe66cd3a.jpg
36a88e69c2aed5c6f2c567034e7989c9.jpg

If the bearings are not making noises, I would not change them. Unfortunately, I stripped my whole pump down to the bone and could not get to the front bearing as the corrosion was so bad that the retainer screw would not come out. In addition, the 4 long screws gave me some trouble (as 2 of them snapped). The removal of the parts is very easy if everything goes smoothly. Everything happened about 2 weeks ago. I opted for a new pump, housing and everything else.

It is apparent if the bearings are going or gone as the noise is way different than just the motor spinning. The hardest part is replacement of the bearings, while the gaskets and seal is very easy. There are videos on You Tube from INYO pools which are excellent.

How To: Replace the Bearings in a Pool Pump Motor - Part I - YouTube