Electric heat pumps - how do they work?

merentha

May 13, 2020
Boston, MA
Hi! I'm pretty new to pool equipment - we moved into a place with a pool two years ago, and I've learned to keep up with cleaning, chemicals and testing over the summers, but that's about it. I live in Massachusetts, and we're having some work done on our pool before we open it sometime in June. It's around 21000 gallons, 18x36, rectangle, in-ground, vinyl liner. There's a step that's collapsed, and in addition to having that repaired we're having a new liner put in (the old one has some serious issues inherited from the last owner).

We're also looking into warming solutions. We'd like to keep it nice and toasty, but we can't do that with our existing propane heater - we've tried, and it costs a fortune. We don't have a gas line to the house, and getting one put in would cost quite a lot because the nearest main is a good distance away. The really nice gentleman who opens/closes/repairs our pool has recommended switching to a 125000 BTU Raypak electric heat pump. (We also plan to install and use a solar blanket on a reel.)

We're on board, but we don't know a lot about how this will work. Is a heat pump essentially on all the time, maintaining the pool at a set temperature? We would have to sell the house to afford doing that with our existing propane heater. Will the cost of doing that with an electric heat pump be outrageous? I've looked through the forum at some of the heat pump posts, but I'm not clear on what level of use the calculators are assuming - constant, like running an A/C in the house to keep a certain temp? Or just powering it up before we swim?

Any tips on this would be very welcome!