Drain and Refill Chem Help

Jun 3, 2018
San Diego, CA
Hello,

I just finished two 45% pool drains and refills. Est 32k-34K gallon free form pool. I could use some of the great TFP wisdom in getting the chem back to where it should be.

These are the chems I have on hand:
4 Gals 10% Sodium Hypochlorate,
2 gallons 31.45% Muriatic Acid,
5 Lbs Cyanuric Acid crystals, (need twice that much?)
5 Lbs Sodium Bysulfate granules,
4 Lbs 20 Mule Team Borax,
12 Lbs baking Soda (Arm and Hammer), and
6 Lbs Sodium Carbonate granules,
a couple nylon stockings and a
5 gallon bucket and the
Taylor K-2006 (FAS-DPD chlorine) test kit.

With City 200 ppm CH, and home softener CH 70ppm combined, I got the CH down from 1050. These are all my numbers immediately after water refill this morning, and what I think I should have for goals. Since this is my first attempt at balancing, my part of the wisdom will be to lean on the TFP wisdom for the proper sequence of additions for the water treatment:

Time: 5/19/21 (9:00 AM)
CH 335, (goal same?)
CYA <30, too low for the Taylor test to satisfy, (goal 40?)
FC 0 (goal 4)
TA 120 (goal 80?)
pH 8.0 (goal 7.4?)

Thanks in advance for the assist. Would like to thank the pool guy for his services too, as soon as possible.

You need the liquid chlorine, the muriatic acid, and the stabilizer. The rest of the chemicals are not needed. Now or ever if you follow TFPC.

Add 10 ppm CYA worth of stabilizer.
Add liquid chlorine to get FC to target level for 40 ppm CYA. See FC/CYA Levels
Add acid to lower pH to 7.4,.