Do I need to lower my TA and other questions

Brian W

Bronze Supporter
Apr 25, 2020
Brea, California
Hi all,

I have a new 13,500 gallon (24 ft by 54 in round) above ground pool in So Cal.. I am new to pool ownership and testing.

Here are my current levels with the pump running at a low speed (1400 rpm-- I don't know how many GPM that is)

FC 5
cc 0.5 (It has just the slightest pink color after I add the 5 drops of the 003)
TA 210 (I tested it a few times before the pump started) (Incorrectly at first but consistent thereafter) The local water quality report says it averages 170 from the underground portion of the imported water
PH 7.5
CYA 40
Calcium 250

I haven't added any salt or any other chemicals, besides the Home Depot Chlorine 10%.

The Pool School here says to lower it immediately "because you want to slow down the rate that the pH rises, or if high TA is contributing to a high calcium saturation index"

I don't think I have high calcium, and not sure about the rate that the Ph rises. It and the chlorine both vary wildly depending on if the pump is running, what speed, how much sun there's been. Is that normal?

So should I add acid to lower the TA? If I do will I need to do it on a regular basis?

I just started putting the solar cover on yesterday. How much will that affect my levels?

When can I start my SWG. What does balanced mean?, for how long? Two days? 10? a month?

Help?

Brian

Short answer: No.

Reread that pool school article. It gives two reasons to lower TA immediately, but also says not to do it just to reach a number.
Those numbers are fine, but I wonder where the 40 CYA came from if you've added nothing but Home Depot Chlorine 10%.

If you're going to be using saltwater chlorine generator, your should get CYA up to 70ish, but until you figure out what you're doing wrong testing or what got put in the pool, I wouldn't do it.