Deep Green Algae pool start up

UncleVen

Apr 26, 2019
Charlotte, NC
Had to go away for 3+ weeks- I came back and the pool is a mess. Green. Yea.
Prior to leaving I had tried the bottle of algaecide and it made no dent - and I knew I'd have a fight on my hands when I got back.(approx 30K gallon pool with sand filter in Charlotte, NC) I'm no pool expert- and not nearly as technical as you guys here on the forum.

So with rain coming I grabbed a bottle of FLOC and added it last evening knowing I could use rain (on the way) water to assist refilling the pool.

In the past FLOC has been the miracle to crystal clear water that I couldn't get balanced. Typically 6-12 hours was all it took. Today ((13 hours later)) it looks the same.

So this morning I have read a bunch of your pool school articles and am kicking myself for not getting rid of the algae first. But before I start down the road to SLAM...

My first question is what to do about the FLOC. I will likely let it sit for the full 48 hours BUT I do not expect it to be the miracle I expected of all the bad stuff sitting at the bottom of the pool. I will assume after 48 hours the pool will still be green and terrible. Is it safe to turn back on filter as I go after the algae? I am assuming I may have to backwash quite a bit and then clean the sand once I have a clean pool but I dont want to harm the filter in the process either.

Thanks for the guidance.

Attachments

• pool-bad.jpg
    pool-bad.jpg
    448.4 KB · Views: 10
Last edited:
Welcome! :wave: If you already added the floc, keep it out of the filter. Vacuum to waste as much as possible once the debris has settled. That can be a painstaking, slow proces, but that's one reason we stay away from floc. But now you know. Yes, follow the SLAM Process process after to get back on track. Use a proper test kit (TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C) to maintain the proper SLAM FC level based on your current CYA FC/CYA Levels.