Costs for temporary above ground pool set up

sta

May 17, 2021
Louisville, OH
Pool Size
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Let me start by saying how glad I am to have found TFP. My mind is continually blown when I follow pool math and get the expected results. I love it!

Our weather has been chilly for the past two weeks since the pool has been up and ready, I figured I would share costs on what it has taken us to get to the pool to this point. For anyone seeing a pool and thinking "yeah, $500, I can swing that!", you might just be forgetting the other things that go into this. Prices are in NE Ohio, after tax, most purchases made at Menards, ALDI (bleach), Drug Mart (chemicals). I am also new at having a pool, so I bet I still have some things to learn, but hopefully not much more to buy.

Pool set up
Pool (Summer Waves 16’x48” from Menards)$532.50
2 ton mason sand (pool is set up on what was a gravel driveway long ago, sand is just to protect the pool from the rocks, not for leveling)$40.00
10 pavers (cut 8 in half to use under the legs, other two for the ladder)$18.96
6 bags rubber mulch (enough to go between the legs and keep the gravel/rocks out)$44.60
Water, approx 5200 gal (I live 5 miles from water hauling company & place they fill up, I can’t imagine getting it for much less)$250.00
Cover (probably the cheapest one out there - it's basically blue bubble wrap)$42.60
thermometer$4.26
test kit (TF100)$75.00
speed stirrer$46.00
extendable pole (to fit new brush)$21.29
Brush (brush/vacuum that came with the pool is not good for brushing)$6.38
2 hose clamps (one of the plastic ones that came with fell off, lost about 300 gallons)$4.24
total$1,085.83

Chemicals & filters
1 gal Muriatic Acid (31.45)$4.25
2 gal liquid chlorine 12%$8.50
6 gal liquid chlorine 6% (I’ve used 3 of these)$15.90
4# cyanuric acid (used less than half) $19.16
6 filters (on my 1st one after the one that came with the pool)$22.33
total$87.18

Stuff I wasted my money on