Concrete Pool Closing Water Level

r2pool2

Sep 23, 2020
OH
I am brand new to the pool world. Our home of six weeks came with a concrete pool. Just had it closed by local shop, and I am a bit concerned about water level. They blew out lines well. But they left it with a straight PVC pipe coming out of the skimmer line and a "snorkel" like L-shaped PVC pipe coming out of the return line where the jet usually is. Both pipes are capped (above water line), and they did put some antifreeze in lines. But they did not drain the water at all. So the skimmer "housing" still has a few inches of water (just like if pool was open) and portions of both pipes are under water. We will freeze this winter, are these pipes in danger of cracking for the portions that are under water? Should I drain my pool below these pipes? Thanks!! Cover is a Katchakid safety net with a solid tarp style pool cover on top. I am considering replacing solid cover with mesh style tarp to avoid having to drain water from cover this winter. Next year we will invest in a proper safety cover.

My pool level is not drained down for the winter. The skimmer line has a Gizmo (Google it) screwed into it so I can blow the line and add anti-freeze. The skimmer box still has water in it. The weir door to the skimmer is propped open with a crushed gallon anti-freeze jug to avoid ice damage to the door.

Depending on where you are in OH I'd be happier if they blew the lines and added the AF to the lines. The returns are blown, AF is added and the lines are plugged under the water.