Complete newbie, cyanuric acid/salt questions

Sep 27, 2017
Conway, AR
Brand new pool (3 months old) and first time pool owner. I've just found this site and I'm going to implement the methods outlined here. I just have a couple of stupid questions to start with.

My cyanuric acid level is only 40 (bad advice from the never to be used again pool store) and I intend to raise to to approx. 75. What's the best way to put the cyanuric acid in the pool? Put it in the skimmers, broadcast it in the pool?

TFP recommends to run salt 200-400 above the manufacturers recommendation. My salt cell recommends 3600 (which is where I run it presently) Do I really need to run it 3800-4000? Will that affect my warranty if I do?

Current parameters

alkalinity 80
pH 7.6
salinity 3600
total chlorine 3
calcium?

Currently testing alkalinity and free chlorine with Hanna photometers, testing pH with a Hanna pH meter calibrated with 7.01 and 10.01 standards weekly. Have the recommended Lamotte test kit ordered.

Welcome to the forum!

At this time of year no real reason to raise your CYA at this time. You will be using less and less FC per day as the sun angle drops towards winter. In fact, the SWCG will stop at about 60F (I actually turn mine off around 65F water temp and use bleach the rest of the winter). So no need to add CYA at this time.

The salt is OK too - I have the same SWCG and run mine at about 3100 ppm. It will make chlorine in a very wide range. No warranty issues.

I would suggest considering getting a drop based test kit versus the Lamotte. The TF100 is the best value.

Take care.

CYA will do nothing to stabilize your pH.

If this is a new plaster pool, you will be dealing with rising pH for a year or so. Otherwise, once your TA and pH find their equilibrium, your pH rise should slow.