Cary, NC
Pool Size
Surface
Fiberglass
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
Hayward Turbo Cell (T-CELL-5)
This is my first year with a pool so I am looking for some guidelines to follow. I am in the Raleigh, NC area so below freezing is uncommon here. I have skimmed around the forums and feel confident about leaving the pool open for the off-season, but wanted to clear up a few things. For reference I have a 15,000 gallon fiberglass pool with a SWG. There is one water feature (cascade). From what I have gathered I can leave the pump pretty much off all season, except when temperatures get to the freezing point. Regardless I will likely run the pump overnight for at least some period of time at 25% to keep some water circulating. In it's first season, the pool looked great all year and had no issues with chemical balance, algae, etc.

Some questions:
  1. Any reason to cover the pool (other than to keep fall leaves out) or just leave it open as normal all winter long?
  2. What, if any, chemical levels should I be keeping tabs on? I've read about throwing in the chlorine pucks but also read here that it brings the CYA levels too high.
  3. Should I be concerned about the water feature? Should it be winterized?
Thanks ahead of time. If there is already a "closing but not really closing your pool" guide I missed somewhere please point me to it.