Closed with water temp at 80 degrees and opened clear again

Jwa19

Aug 14, 2018
Manalapan /nj
Closed with the water temp at 80 degrees in September. Opened today to crystal clear pool again. I always close in September usually after Labor day and with water temps usually in the mid 70's. I've been doing this for 21 years in a row now and always opened to a clear pool. The point is it doesn't matter when you close or how cold the water is. I always open in the beginning to middle of May. Water temp on opening was 60 degrees which is what it usually is when I open every year. This is very important opening early while the water is around 60 degrees is what prevents the green monster. Closed with FC around 15 this year because I had extra liquid chlorine that i did't want to store over winter. Usually close with around 6-8 FC level. On opening FC level was 0 which it normally is on opening. So I closed with double the amount of chlorine that I normally do and still was at 0 on opening. Not surprising as chlorine is not going to last 8 months with rain and snowfall over winter. I think the saying should go Close whenever you want to but open early before water temp goes over 60 degrees.

The steps that I follow every year are:

Raise FC level above what ever you normally keep it at in relation to your CYA level, and check that CC level is 0.
Make sure the pool is clean, vacuum and don't leave anything in there.
I have never used any algaecide and I don't open my cover or add anything to the pool until May when I open.