Clear Water, Good Chemistry, But Slippery Liner

elecsheep9

May 20, 2021
Long Island, New York
This is my first year as a pool owner. I have a semi-inground 12x24 oval. The pool has been open for 3 weeks today.

My water is very clear and, after adding some shock today due to low free chlorine levels, the water now has good chemistry. Free Chlorine, PH, and alkalinity are all in the "ok" range, although Hardness is low.

However, the liner feels very slippery along the walls and floor.

Note that, since the weather warmed up about a weeks ago, the temperature has been in the 75-80 range, even without the heater.

Any idea how I can eliminate this slipperyness?

After 3 weeks, I'm already thinking it'd just be easier to convert to a salt water system. LOL.

Thanks.

Welcome to TFP! :wave: Slippery is an indication of algae. That would require the SLAM Process. But here's our big question:
Free Chlorine, PH, and alkalinity are all in the "ok" range, although Hardness is low.
How can you be sure? Are you testing your own water? And if so, with what? That will be step #1 because anything less than using your own TF-100 or Taylor K-2006C test kit is a recipe for error. It would be ideal to see a full set of water test results from either one of those kits. From there, we can certainly help you.

Hey Elec and Welcome !!! Reliable testing and proper chemistry as listed above are most of the battle. But you need to be brushing the pool also. At least once a week. If you have a robot or manual vac with bristles you can kill 2 birds with one stone.

Algae grows a biofilm over itself to protect it from the chlorine. That’s what you are feeling. Brushing removes the biofilm and exposes the algae to be killed. Often times you will feel it long before you see it in the water. :)