Houston, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Salt Water Generator
SWG Type
CircuPool RJ-60 Plus
I've been researching SWGs for several months but haven't pulled the trigger.

I'm leaning towards CircuPool but can decide between RJ-60+ ($1649) or the Universal-55 ($1099). The Edge-40 is tempting for $999 but probably not big enough for a 27K gallon pool in Houston.

One question is how accurate are the rated lifespans of the RJ-60+ (15K hours) and the Universal-55 (10K hours)? If you calculate $/lb for each unit based on rated lifespans it comes out pretty close ($0.85/lb vs $0.91/lb, respectively).

I prefer the RJ-60+, but noticed the RJ-60+ has increased in price (+$180) while the Universal-55 has decreased in price (-$170) since earlier this year, so I'm torn if I should wait for a better sale in the dead of winter.

One question is how accurate are the rated lifespans of the RJ-60+ (15K hours) and the Universal-55 (10K hours)? If you calculate $/lb for each unit based on rated lifespans it comes out pretty close ($0.85/lb vs $0.91/lb, respectively).
That is a very difficult area to predict. We have many threads here (myself included) where SWG owners attempt to predict FC production to what is advertised. Keep in mind what is advertised is based off of ideal (factory/lab) testing conditions. I have the RJ-45 for our ~18K pool, so the RJ-60 would be a logical choice for you. I also like the programming capabilities with the RJ-series versus some of the other models that don't have quite toe variety of output setting choices.

If you have no other automation in use that might drive a specific brand, the Circupool models are certainly quite popular. Mine is wrapping up season #4 and I hope to see it work through next year. If a cell makes it through 5 years we've done pretty well.