Gold Supporter
Jun 25, 2012
Conroe, TX
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Still a noob here even though I’ve been a member a while. I travel for work every week so I hire a weekly pool service (don’t shoot me) so my weekends are not nothing but home maintenance. Recently the pool company they changed hands and the service and my pool went to Crud. They’ve been fired and working on finding a new one that subscribes to more of the TFP ethos.

As I have become my own pool boy, discovered my CYA level was 130-140 so clearly the clowns were just feeding my pool tabs nonstop. So I spent my vacation week this week draining the pool by half and refilling. This got my CYA down to 95 so another drain this week if I can make the time. I’ve been using an old TF-100 I’ve had a couple years and also testing at Leslie’s as there is one right around the corner. Both tests are close.

I started using the Pool Math app and here is my question. Why does Leslie’s Target FC say 1-4ppm while TFP Pool Math says 7-12ppm. What am I missing here? All the other targets are similar between the two.

Why does Leslie’s Target FC say 1-4ppm while TFP Pool Math says 7-12ppm.
They do not account for or recognize the FC-to-CYA relationship. They simply give a generic number and expect all pools to follow suit. That's their response to all levels.

Reactions: Mdragger88
Still a noob here even though I’ve been a member a while. I travel for work every week so I hire a weekly pool service (don’t shoot me) so my weekends are not nothing but home maintenance. Recently the pool company they changed hands and the service and my pool went to Crud. They’ve been fired and working on finding a new one that subscribes to more of the TFP ethos.