Can’t get rid of algae

EEEE

Jun 7, 2022
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Hi, I am new to pool maintenance. Waiting On test kit to arrive. However, despite putting tons of chlorine in pool the algae will not die and free chlorine is 0. Any thoughts on what I’m doing wrong?? The circulation system works.

Attachments

• 76B49F94-7BF2-4DAA-B052-BB5BF9AEBD52.jpeg
    76B49F94-7BF2-4DAA-B052-BB5BF9AEBD52.jpeg
    558.3 KB · Views: 40
  • 4220B7B5-2356-499C-9F95-6F41EA427C24.jpeg
    4220B7B5-2356-499C-9F95-6F41EA427C24.jpeg
    654.5 KB · Views: 40
First off welcome! :wave:

Without the test results its hard to say what is wrong. While waiting for the test kit add 5ppm of chlorine each day to keep from getting much worse.

Your helper has the right idea with the net/vac. See what you can get up from the bottom. Less organics in the pool will help once you get your test kit.

Once you get your kit post full set of results and we will help you out with next steps.

Also if you haven't read up on the following take a look now so you can hit the ground running when you get the test kit.
SLAM Process
ABCs of Pool Water Chemistry

It's very possible that the FC is 0 and you have ammonia in the pool eating it all up.

It's also possible that your method of testing for FC without the recommended kit is inaccurate and you have FC in the pool, but the test isn't showing.

As mentioned above just add 5ppm of FC via liquid chlorine daily and when you get your test kit, run a full test suite. We'll see what the results are and help from there!

Can you also please fill out your signature?

You can see mine for reference. If you're on a mobile device, turn it sideways to make it show. :)

First off welcome! :wave:

Without the test results its hard to say what is wrong. While waiting for the test kit add 5ppm of chlorine each day to keep from getting much worse.