Bulk Sodium Hypochlorite vs Calcium Hypochlorite

DerekP

Jun 18, 2019
Fletcher, NC
I'm a winemaker by trade and am used to buying chems in bulk. In fact I have soda ash in house that I've used effectively to adjust pH. I just joined here and received invaluable info to my newbie posts. I'm waiting on my TF-100xl test kit and as suggested on the forum I loaded up on some Walmart Great Value low splash bleach (6% active Sodium Hypochlorite ) at $2.64/gal or a little over 2 cents/oz. It seems like that is the most economical way to go.

I have a per ounce analysis below but my main question is should I be looking for Calcium Hypochlorite to help maintain calcium induced pool hardness for my vinyl pool? All the pool suppliers sell bulk Cal-Hypo but chem suppliers I can get Sod-Hypo that is in the Walmart Great Value low splash bleach. Does it make a difference?

Second question - Has anyone found a source of bulk Sod/Cal Hypochlorite that is less expensive than about $2.70/gal of bleach?

I found liquid Sodium Hypochlorite here in a 5 gal pail for $120 at 12.5% active Sod-Hypo. This is about 19 cents/oz. Even though it's twice as a concentrated it's more expensive... hmmm

Then there is Calcium Hypochlorite from pool suppliers like this one. A 50 lb bucket is 800 ounces for $120 call it, so 15 cents/oz. They say 2 oz will add 1 ppm per 10,000 gals. If I need to add 2 ounces that's like adding a gal of Great Value. If it's 5 oz then it's $5.40/day. So not more economical.

Great Value low splash bleach
That will foam up in your pool. Only plain bleach or liquid chlorine. Walmart carries Pool Essentials Chlorinating Liquid, 10%.

As far as Cal Hypo, depends on your calcium hardness levels.

Reactions: DerekP
Use PoolMath Effects of Adding Chemicals to see what each amount adds FC to your pool.

The 73% Cal Hypo needs ~7 oz to add 1 ppm FC to your pool volume. It will add 0.7 ppm CH at the same time.