Victorwp

In The Industry
Sep 2, 2021
Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
Hello TFP, I'm a pool builder and I'm trying to troubleshoot a bonding issue and while researching the problem I found your forum. The pool I installed is fiberglass and has about 17,000 gallons of water, but my customer setup all the electrical because he is an electrician. Once the pool was up and running we noticed we were getting a slight shock when entering the water, so we checked and we have a stray current in the pool. We have had 3 electricians look the bonding and everything checks out but the water is showing a 0.2 volts. I currently have 3 bonding units on the pool right now, one in front of the pump, one in side the pump and a Anode with bond after the filter and I still have the problem. The only way I can get a zero reading on the meter is by running a wire from the fence bonding wire and wiring a metal plate onto the end of the wire and drop it in the water, the second way is to disconnect the saltwater generator (I've already replaced the generator once, thinking it was the problem). 4 months later we still have this voltage problem and no answers. I've contacted the equipment manufacture, bonding manufacture and no one can help. I'm hoping some with in TFP might be able to shed some light on the problem.

Thank you

Welcome to TFP.

Tell us what specific equipment the pool has.

the second way is to disconnect the saltwater generator (I've already replaced the generator once, thinking it was the problem).

What model SWG does it have?

Can you post pics of the equipment pad and pool showing the bonding points you describe?

The only way I can get a zero reading on the meter is by running a wire from the fence bonding wire and wiring a metal plate onto the end of the wire and drop it in the water,

This would lead me to believe you don't have a good water bond. What was used for the water bond and where was it placed?

How was the deck around the pool bonded?