Auto cover for new pool in Nebraska?

Mar 26, 2018
Omaha, NE
I have zero pool experience but this is about to change. We are currently building a new house and need to decide what kind of pool we want. The first and most important question as it influences the design of the pool is whether to get an auto cover or. Ideally we like to get an L-shaped pool as it fits neatly into our house design. If we get an auto cover, it changes the design to a rectangular 16x40 pool. Our pool will be relatively close to a large number of trees. I used to swim competitively and will be using the pool (hopefully) a lot for that purpose.

Nebraska's public pool season is June - Aug 15. I have three kids 6, 6 and 9. All can swim. Safety is not a huge issue from that perspective. Other info: we will likely use chlorine and a vinyl liner and plan on 4.5ft depth throughout.

I'd be getting primarily for its convenience features, i.e. heat retention, less cleanup, possibility to keep the pool open longer.

Given the Midwest location and use case does it make sense to get an auto cover and compromise the shape of the pool?

Thanks!

HI and welcome! I love L shaped pools! There are so many different things you can do in them!

If your wallet is deep enough I bet you can find someone to help you with a auto cover for a L pool. There was one pool a while ago that was L shaped and they were going to get a auto cover for it. They did not finish the build thread so I don't know if they did end up getting it.

Kim:kim:

Well then sounds like it will be a neat rectangle pool. Show us where the pool will be going and just how close the trees are. There are some ideas for planning ahead with equipment and such to help with leaf fall.

Here are a couple of picture showing the location of the pool. The other shot shows the a line of young trees. Basically the house backs towards a green area where the developer planted a number of trees. A couple will be be as close as 20 ft.