Alkalinity - different between my test and pool store

Kaltshuler

Sep 13, 2020
Lancaster, PA
I’m still fairly new to testing my pool myself so I sometimes have it tested at my local pool store. I’m generally very close. CYA is consistently a little lower when I measure vs the pool store. The bigger issue is alkalinity. I’m currently measuring alkalinity of 110 which is high for a salt water pool. However, the pool store is measuring alkalinity at 71 and suggests I raise it. The person at the pool store did say something about “adjusted” alkalinity, but when I questioned this he also showed me on a test strip that the results were closer to his reading than my reading of 110. I’ve tried wiping the tip of the bottle between drops when testing and I’m consistently higher.

Any thoughts?

Attachments

• 1C2A6CA9-8D7D-4E71-A0DA-2B07C8CADAB1.jpeg
    1C2A6CA9-8D7D-4E71-A0DA-2B07C8CADAB1.jpeg
    679.9 KB · Views: 32
Any pool store using strips to test customers water is not a pool store you want to test at. Actually, none of them are!
Your home kit is always more reliable, reproducible and easy to use right then and there.
Adjusted Alkalinity isn't what you want to know anyhow. How's your pH doing?? If its stable and not constantly rising on you I'd not worry overly about it.
Are you using Mineral products in your pool?? Ouch. High cost and risk of staining...beware.

Maddie :flower:

Thanks for the replies!

I have the TF-100 test kit I use at home. Generally my own measurements match what the pool store gets. I was just surprised about Alkalinity being so different.

Thanks for the link to more information about Alkalinity! Sounds like the pool store is reporting adjusted Alkalinity which would explain the difference. And to your point, sounds like they’re trying to get me to raise my Alkalinity too high.

PH levels are good.

And I’m not using the pool store chemicals. Using my own chemicals with the Pool Math app.