Air compressor loses pressure

LukeG

Jan 21, 2022
Lansing, MI
I get the pressure in my compressor up, then I connect it to the pump using a 1/4inch quick-connect coupling (just as I did last year). As soon as I do this, the pressure in the compressor starts falling to zero and I see no air coming out anywhere in the pool. Need some ideas.

what kind of compressor is it? Pictures of the setup might help. is your compressor working properly? Is the tank filling up?

Compressors really aren’t that great for blowing out pool lines. Usually you want high flow rate and volume at low pressure so as to not damage the plumbing. Air blowers work better.

It’s a Porter Cable compressor.

The hose is connected to the compressor on one end, and to the bottom of the pump on the other end. The main drain is shut off. The filter is on re-circulate. This means air should be flowing through the skimmer, and also bypassing the filter to get to the three jets.

I have never used an air blower before. Do they connect to the pump the same way this compressor would?2B03F2A4-489B-40F9-8C52-E91BCAE31C40.jpeg98F284F9-9C47-4569-99EF-379C07AC0844.jpeg

Pancake compressors rarely work, but if it did the trick last year, something must be different this year. Try adjusting the regulator knob all the way down. Let the compressor run for a while to charge and then let it rip.

If you have anywhere the air can escape besides the returns, it won't take much to stop it from working.

Tell me more about these air blowers
They have a 2 inch (?) discharge and a shop vac like hose to connect to the plumbing. It throws crazy CFM and spouts geysers out the other end.

I used my backpack leafblower for a similar effect. I moved and sold the blower, i'm going to try duct taping a hand held gas leaf blower to the pipes this year.

Using the exhaust port of a large shop vac will probably do the trick as well.

It’s a Porter Cable compressor.