Adding Actuator to Water Feature Valve

Kmath

Oct 29, 2022
Tampa, Florida
I'm a pool newbie, but pretty handy. Looking to add an actuator to control my deck jets, it is a 2-way jandy valve (on/off) and I have a Pentair Easytouch controller. Looking to buy the part online, I noticed pentair makes a 90-degree actuator, but they are slightly more expensive than the 180-degree. Is it worth it to buy that so I don't have to mess with adjusting the cams? I guess I'm worried about damaging something, or the deck jets leaking water if I don't get the adjustment right and it doesn't close all the way. I can't find anything online about adjusting the 180-degree actuators for a 90-degree valve.

If you are even slightly mechanically inclined it is very easy to adjust the cams in the 180. I don't see any reason to pay more for a 90 (maybe in a production environment or pool maintenance contractor where the extra ten minutes savings is worth it when they are not paying for the part)
The other alternative is using an intellivalve which is adjusted via push buttons

If you are even slightly mechanically inclined it is very easy to adjust the cams in the 180. I don't see any reason to pay more for a 90 (maybe in a production environment or pool maintenance contractor where the extra ten minutes savings is worth it when they are not paying for the part)
The other alternative is using an intellivalve which is adjusted via push buttons
That helps a lot thank you! Going to tackle it this weekend. We love the deck jets, but constantly turning them on and off and also have to adjust pump speed to get them to work right. No idea why my PB didn't include or give me the option to automate it.

That helps a lot thank you! Going to tackle it this weekend. We love the deck jets, but constantly turning them on and off and also have to adjust pump speed to get them to work right. No idea why my PB didn't include or give me the option to automate it.