PixieDust

Jul 19, 2021
Illinois
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Purchased a house with a pool about a year ago and this is my first pool season. The pool pump failed shortly after purchase and as a total novice, I thought the bigger, more powerful, the better. Now as I am learning more, I’ve come to realize that this may not have been the best choice and may have been overkill. The pool was built in the 70s, 30,000 gallon + spa, 2 skimmers. The spa originally had separate equipment (pump, heater and filter) and it’s own skimmer, but it had not been in service (sold “as-is”) and had leaks in the skimmer. For this season my pool service/maintenance guy re-plumbed the spa to bypass the spa skimmer and share filtration and heating with pool. Currently the water is returned to the spa via the jet lines (only lines that didn’t have rapid water loss) and waterfall over into the pool. The pool plumbing also seems to need future repairs, there is some water loss when the system is running and I think there is an air leak. I would like to start planning for repairing/renovating the plumbing system in the future and was hoping to get some feedback on things I should consider before I reach out to contractors for quotes. When/why would a pool need 2.7HP? Would it be better to replace with a smaller pump, or could I use the current one and add more functions (i.e. not need booster pump for cleaner, add water features)? Thank you!

Welcome to the forum!

A VS pump is never too powerful unless you always run it at full speed. By definition, a VS pump is variable so it will work with any pool and at any "power".

Also, with VS pumps, there are advantages in having a larger pump. Less noise at the same flow rates and less chance of clogging up.

The key with a VS pump is to run on low RPM most if not all the time.

PD,

What you have is a Variable Horse Power pump.. You just use the HP you need for a particular pool function..