Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: converting this week - high bacquacil levels

1. Back To Top    #1

converting this week - high bacquacil levels

Hi! I'm a newbie. We've had our AG for 1 yr. It's 24' x 54", hayward sand filter....clueless about pump. I want to start the conversion this weekend, but my Bac levels are....unfortunately....perfect for Bac. I think I read in another thread how to lower bac levels before starting the conv. but I can't remember what it was. Any help would be greatly appreciated!
    Leigh Pack

24' x 4' AGP (~13600 gal), Hayward Power-Flo LX 1.5 hp pump, Hayward sand filter

2. Back To Top    #2
    Welcome to TFP!

Some people have had great success using sodium percarbonate for the initial stage of the conversion. When it works correctly it can speed up the conversion process but it tends to cost more.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3
    Hi leigh and welcome to TFP

List as much pool/equipment info in your sig as you can. This will be needed by those trying to help you with your pool.

What test kit are you using?

Good luck with the conversion!
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

4. Back To Top    #4

Okay....sorry it took me so long to post again....

I'm using test strips by Aqua Chem.....I know, FAR from what I need, but I'm going to get a kit SOON>