Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pentair clorinator question

1. Back To Top    #1

Pentair clorinator question

I have a new Pentair SWG 40 system. The initial salt read was 2600 after adding 8 bags of salt. I added a couple more bags and now the system is reading between 1200-1400 ppm. My test strips are reading in the 3000-3200 range. What should I do?
    18,900 Stonescapes Tahoe Blue xtra black, 8 jet Spa, Pentair inteliflo VS , Pentair FNS 60 DE, Inteliclor40, Pentair 400,000 Mastertemp heater, 3 spillovers powered by a Pentair 1 HP whisperflo pump, The pool Cleaner, 2 Intellibright color changing lights and 400 sq ft. of Heliocol roof mounted solar.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pentair clorinator question

Was the initial salt read from the unit?

Edit: based on the pool calculator, that new reading from the unit can't be correct. Does the manual give a way to calibrate the unit or something? (I'm a SWG noob)
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

3. Back To Top    #3

It can take 24 to 48 hours for the salt to mix in completely and the reading on the SWG to settle down. If it hasn't been that long already, give it a day or two and then see where you are.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

4. Back To Top    #4

It has been well over the 48 hour time frame. After the initial 48 hours it read 2600 ppm. Then the next day 1200- today 1400.
    Salt test stripe says 3000-3200, which makes sense from the pool calc.