Newbie: Elevated Spa Closing Help

df.pa.2112

Silver Supporter
Nov 2, 2018
Philadelphia, Pa
Hello,

First time poster here so I apologize if this isn’t a reasonable way to start.

In the spring of the year we purchased a home with an IG plaster pool and elevated spill over spa. This is my first pool so to say I was a newbie in all of this was an understatement. After numerous let downs and what felt like extortions from the local pool companies I eventually decided to do all of the upkeep and work myself. This forum has been an invaluable resource to giving me peace of mind with the balancing and overall upkeep. By the end of summer things were very working very well and quite predicable.

I had hoped to get a company to assist me with closing but as they have all summer the effort has only resulted in more letdowns. While the overall condition of the pool was fairly good the upkeep and maintenance of the cover, pumps, electrics and plumbing maintenance and upkeep left me with a lot to do this first year. I think I have at least sorted out most of what needs to be done in the future and have repaired the cover and repaired the plumping/pumps enough to safely close for the year (although I am way behind where I wanted to be.)

I have a plan for closing and have gotten all of the plugs, cyclone (purchased and on the way), gizmo and can get the antifreeze I may need. Shooting for midweek this week for the big day. While I still have a lot of uncertainties but I think I have a procedure that will get me safely closed.