May 10, 2018
Wimberley Texas
Pool Size
Surface
Plaster
Chlorine
Liquid Chlorine
Hi,

I’m a TFP rookie. I have been taking care of my new plaster with TFP Pool School methods and testing for FC & PH everyday.

My pool specifics are in the signature and my CYA is currently at 50.

I’m in Houston and currently my pump is running 8 hours per day. 1 hour for every 10 degrees in water temp.

When leaving on vacation should i just put 5 chlorine tablets in a floater or put them in the automatic feeder? Will be gone for a weekend but also curious about 10
day vacation. I’ve not been using any powder or tablets at all but realize I may need to when I leave.

Currently losing about 2-3ppm of FC daily, due to sunlight. Just finished a SLAM two weeks ago.

Thanks for any advice.

I think others here can advise you about how to use tabs to sneak away. I did it with automation. Have you considered converting your pool to salt and installing as SWG? Really cuts down on daily maintenance, and once you get it dialed in you can sneak away for a good stretch. It's easy to do, and the cost over time pretty much breaks even with the cost of liquid chlorine...

Use PoolMath to see what FC and CYA each tablet will add to your pool.

For the weekend, this time of year, just raise your FC to near shock level for your CYA and do not worry.

For a 10 day, use your current FC loss (at the time of the vacation) and put enough tablets in your feeder to make up that FC for the time gone (or max number of tablets, if necessary). The problem will be you will not know what setting to put the feeder on. So you will just have to guess.

There is no validity to running a pump based on temperature of water.

See Pool School - Determine Pump Run Time