Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: GREEN WATER BUT CHEMISTRY PERFECT! PLS HELP!!!!

1. Back To Top    #1

GREEN WATER BUT CHEMISTRY PERFECT! PLS HELP!!!!

BE GENTLE! its my first time!!
    my pool stats: fiberglass shell in ground, 31x14x (3 shallow 9 deep) ~22750gal i think
    motor 1 hp ao smith brand new
    filter hayward cartridge(stuff doesnt stick to it, comes out through jets!! suggestions?)

i noticed my pool getting cloudy on friday so i tested the water(all good) and immediately took it to the local pool chain to do further testing. they said evtngs fine. by sunday TOTALLY GREEN CANT SEE MY DRAIN!! i though if ph,alk, and cl were good your pool was o.k.? please help me! i didnt think this was sooo harrrrddd!! i run my pool motor 8 hrs a day 9-5 daily. it has been around 90-95 in no california last/this week. thx. pete
    hayward cartridge filter c1200
    ao smith 1 hp motor
    22700 inground fiberglass
    no cal

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: GREEN WATER BUT CHEMISTRY PERFECT! PLS HELP!!!!

You need to post your water figures "all good" is NOT true or you wouldn't have a green pool .

3. Back To Top    #3

sorry!
    cl 5
    ph 7.5
    ta 110
    ch 240
    cya 80
    tds 850
    phos 100-200
    ao smith 1 hp motor
    no cal

4. Back To Top    #4

In the Industry

Ok, with your level of CYA you should be running at a much higher level of chlorine FC9 and you will need to shock with bleach to reach a breakpoint of FC31 check out http://www.troublefreepool.com/pool-...ya_chart_shock

Ideally you should partly drain some water to lower your CYA and then re-fill with fresh, however some parts of your country seem to require higher CYA due to very strong sunlight.

You will learn a heck of a lot if you study the Pool School section of this site, Button on the top right.

5. Back To Top    #5