Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Posts
    68

    does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low?
    This year i have been running the pump on low 20 hrs. On high 4 hrs while the polaris is running. trying to save a little$$$
    i have a northstar 2sp pump (1.5hp) and 2" piping. this baby will move some H20. 22k pool. the pool has 6 returns, 2 skimmers and main drain. all are fine. Pool looks great! water is clear.
    #'s are great. I've been using ben's/TFP test kits for years.
    except my 2.5 yo SWG has stopped reading salt levels correctly and chlorine production is down. taylor kit reads salt @ 4000. The aqualogic reads 2300 and asking for salt. I've cleaned the cell twice this year and it has always looked fine. up to 65% output to get 2-3ppm. last couple of years only took 25%. No blooms, low bather load, regular water care, BBB etc.
    the only change is the pump speed. on low it is only .25 hp. diag menu looks fine. flow switch fine.
    I think the cell is going. i turn the pump on high for a few days and no change in chlorine #'s or SWG salt reading.
    CYA 100 and shocking pool does not change anything SWG-wise.
    you think it is a flow problem? too low for SWG to work correctly?
    Cal C.

    22k ig vl, hayward 2sp northstar, hayward pro series sand filter, aqua logic ps-8 wireless controls with swg, hayward (eus) heat pump, polaris 280 cleaner.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    9,901

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    Cell display would read low/no flow if there was a problem so it sounds like it is working ok. Usually it takes very low speeds for there to be a problem.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump and Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, 1/2 HP 2sp pump, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater, ThePoolCleaner

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    It is possible that the SWG is wired so that it is only on when the pump is on high. This would be obvious, as all of the lights on the SWG panel would turn off when the pump was on low.

    As long as the SWG panel lights say that the unit is happy while the pump is on low, then that isn't the problem.

    It is possible the problem has to do with water chemistry. If you post a full set of water test results, we might be able to spot the problem there.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Valrico, FL
    Posts
    500

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    The Aqualogic combines the SWCG and pump control inot one unit. From your description it looks like the cell is bad. Bite my tongue but many Lesie's have the setup to test chlorination cells. Can't hurt to much.
    7,500 gal, IG pool, L shape 22' x 15', 1.5 hp pump, cartridge filter, AquaPlus SWG/Controller, Pebble-Tec liner.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    Quote Originally Posted by induce
    CYA 100 and shocking pool does not change anything SWG-wise.
    Shocking with what?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Posts
    68

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    bleach. using the bleach calc.
    get a good shock level (8-10), no c.c. shows. it's still there the next am.
    it will drift down as usual over the week.
    Cal C.

    22k ig vl, hayward 2sp northstar, hayward pro series sand filter, aqua logic ps-8 wireless controls with swg, hayward (eus) heat pump, polaris 280 cleaner.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    frustratedpoolmom's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    SWSuburban Chicago, IL
    Posts
    11,963

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    Shock level for a CYA of 100 is about 40 FC.

    The abscense of CC doesn't indicate there is not still a problem.

    If your SWG isn't functioning properly, you should be maintaining a minimum of 7 FC at all times, using bleach to prevent algae.

    Was the SWG off during the overnight loss test?
    Helpful links: Pool School; CYA/Chlorine Chart
    24' round AG pool, 52" high, Raypak heater; Waterway 2 spd Pump;
    150 Sq ft. Clearwater Cartridge Filter; Former and DISSATISFIED "Pool Frog" owner
    http://www.PerfectlyClearPoolService.com

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Murfreesboro, TN
    Posts
    68

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    your telling me to shock my pool to 40 ppm ?????
    Cal C.

    22k ig vl, hayward 2sp northstar, hayward pro series sand filter, aqua logic ps-8 wireless controls with swg, hayward (eus) heat pump, polaris 280 cleaner.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,887

    Re: does the aqualogic generate while the 2 speed pump is on low

    What you should really do is lower your CYA level first. Then you won't have to go all the way up to 40. High CYA levels require very high shock levels. See the Chlorine/CYA chart in Pool School.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •