Clean Tile Grout

millargs888

Sep 30, 2017
Philippines
Pool Size
Hi Everyone, my name is Gordon, I'm new to Trouble Free Pool, I'm also a new pool owner.
My problem is the discolouration of the grout between my pool tiles.
I use a skimmer based suction unit, with brush attachments, that doesn't seem to remove the stains.
I use a Dolphin robotic clearer, with a rotational scrubbing brush, that doesn't seem to remove the stains.
I have drained the pool and scrubbed with bleach, and also with muratic acid.
Both remove a little of the staining but the stains still remain.
Is there anything that I can use to remove these grout stains, or is there a paint, or a lacquer that I can use to cover the grout ?
Any help would be appreciated.

Welcome to the forum:wave:
Muriatic acid followed with bleach is your best option. You may not get it all but I think you can get most with reated applications.

How strong is the dilution of muriatic you are using? Does it "foam" when you apply it?

Are you diluting the muriatic? Usually about 2:1 water and muriatic.

After the muriatic treatment submerge the affected grout and elevate you FC to twice it's normal level and , over time, the staining will likely go away.

Can you post test results?

Are you diluting the muriatic? Usually about 2:1 water and muriatic.

After the muriatic treatment submerge the affected grout and elevate you FC to twice it's normal level and , over time, the staining will likely go away.

Can you post test results?

Apologies for the late reply.
I haven't been diluting the acid, I have used it straight from the bottle, taking the usual precautions.

I am waiting for a replacement bulb at the moment, when I have that I will drain the pool and try your recommended treatment.
I will post results when I have them.
Many thanks for the help.