Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    StL, MO
    Posts
    48

    Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    The motherboard on my Easy Touch 4 was recently replaced and I was surprised to see that the newest firmware offers all sorts of new options in the Lights menu. I'm pretty sure I correctly assigned circuit names and functions (1 is Spa, 2 is Pool, 3 is Aux 1 (SAm), 4 is Aux 2 (PG2000) and Aux 5 (Color Wheel). But I'm having no luck w/ Modes, or even Sync. What am I doing wrong? Do these features require an IntelliBrite (which I don't have)?

    I'm guessing that's the case, meaning that the SAm and PG2000/photon generator are slaved to the IntelliBrite controller. I'm not interested in an IntelliBrite for a few reasons. The SAm in my 2-year old pool was just replaced a couple of months ago (late last season I discovered that my builder somehow managed to cut through the power cable's waterproof shroud while installing the SAm). Also, despite the IntelliBrite's fantastic features, I know that a single LED light isn't bright enough to fully illuminate even a pool as small as mine (16x32). I'm not willing to spend more money to replace a new SAm w/ an IntelliBrite, nor the cost of a second IntelliBrite in the shallow end, not to mention the labor and expense of removing part of my deck and trenching the backfill to install a 2nd IntelliBrite in the shallow end.

    I wish Pentair would offer a sub board w/ the IntelliBrite's logic, that could be installed into any Pentair automation system and offer the IntelliBrite's modes for controlling SAm and fiber optic lighting. I would happily spend $300-400 for that.

    I'd appreciate any thoughts.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,383

    Re: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    Here, It's probably easier than for me to tell you. Lights start on Pg 12. I think this includes the new revision.

    http://www.pentairpool.com/pdfs/EasyTouchICPUG.pdf
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    StL, MO
    Posts
    48

    Re: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    Thanks - yeah, I downloaded the newest manual and concluded I evidently need an IntelliBrite to take advantage of the new light modes. Doubtless the newest firmware for Pentair's automation systems was updated to take advantage of the IntelliBrite's logic. Awaiting confirmation from the Pentair rep.

    As I said, I wish Pentair would offer a card that could provide the same logic to SAm's, PG2000's, etc. for pools w/o an IntelliBrite. I guess I'm left w/ the same basic cycle as before - which ain't bad, but I was excited by the prospects of those other light modes.

    Also, I'm pleased that my IntelliChlor com/% output issue was resolved w/ the new boards (both the Easy Touch motherboard and the IntelliChlor power board were replaced). Also, was pleased to see that the blades on my IC40 were pristine when I examined them a couple of weeks ago. It's good to be able to precisely maintain my FC once again.

    When you responded to a similar post of mine on PoolandSpa Forum (http://www.poolspaforum.com/forum/in...l=intellichlor ) you mentioned "another little bump" the IntelliChlor has had. I'm keenly interested to hear about that - please share!

    Thanks,
    Joe

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,383

    Re: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    The problem with allowing other manufc. to run their stuff on your systems is that you're taking money out of your own hands. If you sold controllers and lights, and made it so ppl could use different lights (that you don't sell) with your controller, you would be loosing that sale. thats the main, and possibly the only reason they don't interface with other lights. Or it's a software thing (doubtful).
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    StL, MO
    Posts
    48

    Re: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    But the SAm and PG2000 are both Pentair products!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry
    Pool Clown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Silicon Valley, CA
    Posts
    1,383

    Re: Question about lights setup on Pentair Easy Touch

    Sorry, My bad. Thought you said Jandy in there somewhere. I was working on a Jandy 2000 the other day. Boy, talk about A.D.D.
    Factory Warranty Station for:
    Jandy, Pentair, Sta-Rite, Raypak, Polaris,
    and Paramount pool cleaning systems.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •